The Bereavement team provides either a meal for a bereaved family or a light reception for those attending a member’s funeral at our church. The family decides which better suits their needs. The team has a regular staff, but church members volunteer whenever the need arises. 

Team members: Judy Corbett, Chairperson, Rozanna Lawing; Martha Sigmon; Joy Cheek; Mike Brown, Judy Brown (Deacon); Pam Brooks (Deacon); Sue Birch; Della Medlin; Joyce Martin (Deacon).


Building and Grounds

The Building and Grounds team strives to maintain the facilities of the church to the highest possible standard.

Team members:  Joe McGrath, Chairperson (Elder), Dave Barbee, David Osborne; Tim Hood (Deacon); Jeanne Sikes McGrathWray Moxley; Judy Corbet; Tim Waite; Jerry Cheek.


Christian Education

The Christian Education team seeks to educate and impact all members of the church by creating opportunities to grow in faith, developing strong spiritual leaders, and providing programs and events that encourage Christian fellowship, for the church and the community.

Team members: Ardy Skidmore, Chairperson for Youth (Elder); Herman Canipe, Jr., Chairperson for Adults (Elder), British Hyrams (Associate Pastor), Kathy Bricker (Elder), Judy Brown (Deacon), Allison Burgess, Emily Cheek, Sallie English, Debby Moss, Eric Robinson (Deacon), Letarshia Robinson.



The Fellowship team traditionally hosts church-wide meals for special occasions The events include: Graduation Sunday, the Stewardship Luncheon, the Harvest Breakfast, VIP Social, Christmas Breakfast and various other breakfasts and luncheons. The team will coordinate and support any church-wide gathering, event or meeting approved by Session.    

Team members: Susan Osmar, Chairperson (Elder), Pam Brooks (Deacon), Joy Cheek, Tim Hood (Deacon), Joyce Martin (Deacon), Joe McGrath (Elder), Pam Murphy, Rick Murphy, Diane Price, Jeanne Sikes McGrath.


Guest Outreach

The Guest Outreach team is charged with making all church guests feel welcomed and encouraged to return. A welcome bag for first time guests is provided along with a follow up phone call that week. New members are welcomed and introduced to the congregation during Sunday worship service. That day a photo of the new member is taken and later framed and given as a gift to the new member. New members as well as long-time members and guests are assigned a Shepherd who serves on the Diaconate.

Team members: Charlie Bricker, Lynn McNeill, Donna Young, Sandra Burke.


Finance and Stewardship

The Finance and Stewardship team is responsible for oversight of the financial budget and affairs of the church.

Team members: Wade Shepherd, Chairperson (Elder), Jeanne Sikes McGrath (Financial Secretary); Charles Wilkerson; John Burgess, Sr.; Joan Hedgepath; Chet Knapp; Lauren Perkin; Beverly Cheek.


Marketing / Publicity

The Marketing / Publicity team manages external publicity for the church and is responsible for the church website, social media, newspaper, advertisements, banners, and other external media used for publicizing the church.

Team members: Andy Cheek, Chairperson (Elder), Becky Helms, Russell Helms,, Lynn Snuggs, Charles Wilkerson.



The Missions team coordinates opportunities for church involvement in local and international missions. We are focusing the majority of our efforts making a difference in the Steele Creek area.  We organize and maintain programs at the church itself, and in the local community. We organize drives, secure materials needed, deliver materials to designated location, and coordinate requests for support with volunteers.

Current ongoing programs include: Steele Creek Elementary School, Room in the Inn, Loaves and Fishes, Dare to Care, Cookies for Kairos, and Operation Christmas Child Shoe Boxes.

Team members: Jeanne Smith, Chairperson (Elder), Sallie English, Mike Brown, Della Medlin, Bob Hunter, Clint Burke (Elder).


Staff Support

The Staff Support team is responsible for establishing and maintaining personnel procedures as well as overseeing the staff.

Team members: Chris Knapp, Chairperson (Elder), Diane Wilson, Ardy Skidmore (Elder), Jeanne Sikes McGrath.



The Worship team is largely responsible for the coordination of all facets of Sunday morning and special worship services. This includes the order and content of the service, music, decorations, as well as preparation for communion. Decorations include the Chrismon tree, Christmas garland and wreaths, window decorations, candles and banners. Additionally, the team is responsible for coordinating wedding and funeral services held in the sanctuary ensuring the sanctuary building is left secured after the service.

Team members: Jessica Smith (Elder), Sheila Fetner (Director of Music), Tom Schmutzler (Associate Director of Music), Bud Shaney (Elder Emeritus), Joyce Smith, Sandra Burke, Clint Burke (Elder).